New website coming soon! 

SAGE Board elects new officers

The SAGE board has elected a new slate of officers for the 2019-2020 term.  These officers include:

Rob Simonetti, Design Director at SWBR, has been elected as President of SAGE.  He has served on the SAGE board as director for two years.  He has been involved in organizing the EFA Design Showcase jury process as well as serving as a member of the content development team for the Environments for Aging Conference.  Rob is passionate about person-centered care and design that brings positive change to the lives of older adults. 

Jill Schroeder, Senior Planner/ Senior Interior Designer with Pope Architects, will serve as Vice President alongside Rob in leading the SAGE board.  Jill has served on the SAGEducation Committee for a number of years and is the “voice” of SAGE webinars as she has moderated most of these educational opportunities since their inception.  Jill also serves on the EFA Magazine Editorial Advisory Board. 

Martin Dickmann, CFO, EVP of Planning and Financial Services with Action Pact, will continue for another term as treasurer of SAGE.  Martin has brought his CFO mindset to the officer group and has been influential in the establishment and monitoring of the stewardship responsibilities of the board. 

Maria Lopez, owner of Maria Lopez Interiors, has been elected to serve as Secretary of the SAGE board.  Her primary responsibility will involve membership growth and development.  Her passion for SAGE and for this senior living space is contagious and the board will be well served by her proactive involvement in board leadership.  She has served in leadership for the AIA Design for Aging professional interest group for a number of years.  She will provide a vital linkage to building strategic relationships with other collateral organizations. 

We want to thank the outgoing officers whose terms came to a close in 2018. 

Mitch Elliott, Principal at RDG Planning & Design,  has served as president for SAGE for the past five years and previously as vice president for three. Mitch has lead SAGE with a consistent and thoughtful style which has successfully grown both our organization and strategic partnerships. The work of Mitch and the other outgoing officers leaves SAGE incredibly healthy and poised for future success. Mitch will continue with SAGE in the role of Past President

Alec Sithong, Design Consultant, has served as vice president for the past five years.  His faithful and energetic support has been invaluable in walking SAGE through some challenging times.  Alec will continue to serve on the SAGEducation Committee as a member of SAGE.

Andrew Alden, Senior Planner/Designer with Eppstein Uhen Architects, will step down as Secretary of SAGE as his term comes to a close.  Andrew was one of the early pioneers in the launching of SAGE in the 1990s and has continued to share his wisdom, passion and expertise in the design competitions involving SAGE.  He has been instrumental in developing the David Green Award in which we will celebrate the first award recipient at the 2019 EFA Conference. 

We wish to thank all of our outgoing officers for both their passionate stewardship of SAGE and for advocating for physical environments which  improve the quality of life for elders.

© 2020 The Society for the Advancement of Gerontological Environments. All rights reserved.

The Society for the Advancement of Gerontological Environments is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.

Privacy Policy

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software