David A. Green Memorial Award

Learn about the 2019 David Green Memorial Award winner, Shirah Cahill. 

David Green, a monumental force and radical visionary, revolutionized the way we think, feel, operate, and design environments for older adults. He is credited with developing the first households in a nursing-home setting within the United States based upon an innovative approach for memory care supported by OBRA ’87.

This year, the David A. Green Memorial Award is shifting focus. In the past, the award was given to a provider, designer, or firm who exemplified David's vision for advancing the personalization of elder environments. We are pleased to change the focus of the award to provide an Environments for Aging Conference Experience to a first-time attendee. 

The Award:

Environments for Aging (EFA) Conference Experience

  • Full-conference registration for the 2019 Environments for Aging Conference and Expo in Salt Lake City (April 7-10, 2019) compliments of Emerald Expositions.
  • Attend SAGE-sponsored sessions with a SAGE thought leader.
  • Transportation--SAGE will arrange and prepay transportation to and from Salt Lake City.
  • Lodging at conference hotel (Arranged and prepaid by SAGE).
  • Meals and local transportation--Some meals are included with full-conference registration. Award recipient will receive a daily stipend to cover additional meals and local transportation.
  • Networking opportunities with SAGE members and leaders at the SAGE member reception as well as scheduled meals with some of the greatest minds of SAGE.
  • One-year complimentary SAGE membership.
Award Value: 
Approximately $3,000 (but really...how can one put a value on such a great opportunity?!)
  • This is not a cash award. 


Because David was one of the founding members of SAGE and was instrumental in creating the major principals that guide it today, SAGE is pleased to administer this award.


Applicants must be first-time Environments for Aging Conference attendees and have no more than five years experience in the senior-living industry. The idea behind this award to is to make this conference experience a possibility for someone just getting started in the senior-living industry. Many SAGE members will tell you that EFA is simply the BEST conference out there for architects, designers, regulators, educators, students, consultants, providers, and others who are committed to excellence in senior living. 

    For more information regarding the SAGE vision, CLICK HERE

    Entry Instructions:

    We are no longer accepting entries for the 2018 David Green Memorial Award.

    Award recipient will be announced by December 14, 2018.

    Fund Longevity:

    This is a perpetual fund that continues to grow through generous contributions from the many supporters of David Green’s vision. We hope that as the fund grows, we will be able to make the EFA Conference Experience opportunity available to even more future industry leaders. 

    Contributions to the David Green Memorial Fund are being accepted HERE.

    © 2019 The Society for the Advancement of Gerontological Environments. All rights reserved.

    The Society for the Advancement of Gerontological Environments is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.

    Privacy Policy

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software